Jose Ramon BG
Jose Ramon BG
Spain
Local time: 00:47
Catalan to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 14, 2023

I am looking for a bit of help.

I work for an organisation where Word documents are the standard, and I am looking for a tool or add-on where I can have custom glossaries which interact with Microsoft Word, meaning the glossary entries pop up somehow when the term is highlighted in Word or the cursor is on the term. I know we would have that if we processed our Word files with a TM tool (I have extensive experience with Trados, Transit and DejaVu and their terminology suites), but
... See more
I am looking for a bit of help.

I work for an organisation where Word documents are the standard, and I am looking for a tool or add-on where I can have custom glossaries which interact with Microsoft Word, meaning the glossary entries pop up somehow when the term is highlighted in Word or the cursor is on the term. I know we would have that if we processed our Word files with a TM tool (I have extensive experience with Trados, Transit and DejaVu and their terminology suites), but unfortunately using these (or similar) tools not possible in many cases.

In an ideal scenario, we are talking about something that works with the native application, but I am open to explore options that work with the browser-based version of Word. We have Office 365 at work.

If you think you need more information to be able to help, please ask and I'll try to be as specific as possible.

Thanks for your suggestions in advance.
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Macro Sep 14, 2023

This can be done via a macro or, in case of Word for Mac, with Keyboard Macro. See my post on the Ultimate Term Tool:

https://www2.proz.com/forum/apple_mac_operating_systems/355768-ultimate_term_tool.html

[Edited at 2023-09-15 04:05 GMT]

Jose Ramon BG
Jose Ramon BG
Spain
Catalan to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Term look-up tool in Word? Sep 14, 2023