Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 00:43
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Sep 13, 2022

Hi,
I have a subscription to MS Office 365, then I have the Softmaker Suite and Libre Office.
On the CAT side I have Cafetran, Wordfast PRO (for Mac), MemoQ 9.10, Studio 2022, DVX.
Here goes my question: Do I still need MS Office or can I unsubscribe it? Only app I would regret is OneNote, but Evernote does a good job, too.
Agreed, 69 €/year is not a big deal, but still ...

[Edited at 2022-09-13 12:19 GMT]

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Wolfgang Sep 13, 2022

Wolfgang wrote:
I have a subscription to MS Office 365...

Since Microsoft stopped shipping a DOC/DOCX file viewer, having the full version of Office is the only way to view DOC/DOCX files in a trusted tool. Neither Softmaker Office nor LibreOffice is reliable at displaying all or most DOC/DOCX files.

Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Reliable ...? Sep 13, 2022

Samuel Murray wrote:

Wolfgang wrote:
I have a subscription to MS Office 365...

Since Microsoft stopped shipping a DOC/DOCX file viewer, having the full version of Office is the only way to view DOC/DOCX files in a trusted tool. Neither Softmaker Office nor LibreOffice is reliable at displaying all or most DOC/DOCX files.

Thanks Samuel.
What do you mean by reliable? I never had any sort of problem, so far, with displaying DOC/DOCX files using Softmaker or LibreOffice.
Actually, I should be more precise: Is there any CAT tool among those mentioned that strictly "requires" MS Office?

[Edited at 2022-09-13 12:33 GMT]

Michael Davies
Michael Davies  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2009)
Danish to English
+ ...
Do I still need MS Office or can I unsubscribe it? Sep 13, 2022