Unni Tengvall-Unadike
Unni Tengvall-Unadike  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 00:38
English to Finnish
+ ...
Oct 1, 2019

Hi everybody,

I would like to ask if anybody knows if this offer is legit, though it is a bit difficult without naming names (!).
First of all, I received an e-mail via Proz.com from an outsourcer representative to do a rather large translation.
However, there were several discrepancies that caught my attention:

1) I was approached by them, and I have done zero jobs on Proz.com so far, so I'm really a beginner with no credentials. (I guess I should have sto
... See more
Hi everybody,

I would like to ask if anybody knows if this offer is legit, though it is a bit difficult without naming names (!).
First of all, I received an e-mail via Proz.com from an outsourcer representative to do a rather large translation.
However, there were several discrepancies that caught my attention:

1) I was approached by them, and I have done zero jobs on Proz.com so far, so I'm really a beginner with no credentials. (I guess I should have stopped right there...)

2) They did not ask for my CV or any kind of test, just directly offered the job.

3) The company exists, I guess, since it has a website (though the English at the site is not 100% perfect, and they provide no Terms&Conditions or Vendor Policy info) and the company has OK Blue Board rating. (Obs: I'm not a paying member, so I only got to see their points and number of jobs completed.)

4) The first e-mails came from company email but then the person had to switch to gmail because of "problems with company e-mail".

5) The person's LinkedIn profile says that they have only worked for the company till 2016, and now are working for another translation agency in another country (which also has a website but with limited information to my mind).

6) The IP address of the e-mails also points to this other country instead of the country the company is supposed to be from.