Thread poster: Helena Stanek-Neuwirth
Helena Stanek-Neuwirth
Helena Stanek-Neuwirth  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:07
Chinese to German
+ ...
Oct 12, 2011

Hello!
Did somebody of you translate an online game? What are the rates for such an translation?
I have an offer to translate an online game from chinese to german, and I was asked about my prices for such an project. My rate is still very low, I have to admit (o.05 Euro per word), as I am still a beginner. The agency asked me, what my rates for an online game are... So I suppose it is not usual to offer a rate per word for an online game? I have no idea. I would be grateful for sugg
... See more
Hello!
Did somebody of you translate an online game? What are the rates for such an translation?
I have an offer to translate an online game from chinese to german, and I was asked about my prices for such an project. My rate is still very low, I have to admit (o.05 Euro per word), as I am still a beginner. The agency asked me, what my rates for an online game are... So I suppose it is not usual to offer a rate per word for an online game? I have no idea. I would be grateful for suggestions!
thank you in advance,

Helena
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Online game is a translation Oct 12, 2011

Hi Helena,

translating an online game is...translating words from one language into another.
If your rate is EUR 0.05, then you should state just this per word rate.
personally, I believe that the language pair Chinese - German requires a much higher rate. But that is your decision. Just make sure that you will not get stuck on such a low rate forever.

Best,
Thayenga

Igor Indruch
Igor Indruch  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
Depends, how the translation is done... Oct 12, 2011